You can send messages to volunteers and Coordinators through Volgistics in three ways: Email, VicMail, and text messages. Messages can also be sent as a combination of these methods. For example, you could send a message as both a text and a VicMail message.
Your options to recall a message that was sent are different depending on which way the message was sent.
Messages sent as VicMail appear for volunteers to read in the VicNet portal or when they clock in or out at the VicTouch time stations. Coordinators cannot use the time stations, but they will see VicMail messages in the VicNet portal.
Because this type of message is handled entirely within the Volgistics system, you can remove VicMail messages you send. To do this:
- Choose Mailbox from the menu.
- Click the Out Box tab.
- If the message was sent over 180 days ago, or was archived manually, go to the Archived sub-tab.
- Check the box to the left of the row where the message appears.
- Click the Delete button at the bottom of the page.
For a VicMail message sent through VicNet, when you delete a message any volunteers or Coordinators who have not yet viewed the deleted message will never see the message. For volunteers or Coordinators who have viewed the message already, the message will no longer appear on the volunteer's Mail page.
With VicMail messages sent through VicTouch, volunteers only see the message once after they enter their PIN. So if they have signed-in or out since the message was sent, they likely read it already. If they have not signed-in or out since the message was sent, deleting the message will prevent them from reading it the next time they sign-in or out.
Messages sent as email are sent as standard internet email. There is not a way to recall email once it leaves the Volgisitcs servers. Volgistics does not hold outbound email messages for any reason so there is not a way to recall a message sent by email once you click the Send now button.
Messages sent as text messages (SMS) are sent as standard text messages. There is not a way to recall text messages. Volgistics does not hold outbound text messages for any reason so there is not a way to recall a message sent via text message once you click the Send now button.